Classes are Running || Delhi, Call 8800533302/52 || Gurugram, Call 7838900910 || Bhubaneswar, Call 7682823980/81

Telangana Governor accepts Cabinet resolution to dissolve State Assembly

On September 6, 2018, The Telangana Cabinet accepts a resolution that calls for the dissolution of the State Assembly.

Chief Minister of the state K Chandrasekhar Rao had called for the meeting with his Council of Ministers to dissolve the State Assembly and pursue fresh elections ahead of the agenda. Immediately after the meeting, CM K Chandrasekhar Rao submitted a one-line resolution about the cabinet dissolving the assembly to the Governor ESL Narasimhan, to which the Governor accepted.

CM is expected to come in front of a press conference soon.

Governor’s Response

Governor of Telangana, ESL Narasimhan accepted the sanction of the Telangana cabinet to dissolve the legislative assembly.

But, he asked CM and his council of ministers to linger as the caretaker government and K Chandrasekhar Rao has agreed to the same. He will now remain as the caretaker CM of the state.

Reasons of Early Elections

The legislative assembly polls in Telangana were originally scheduled to be held concurrently with the Lok Sabha elections in 2019, but the ruling party reportedly sees separating the two polls as a political benefit. It aims to cash-in on the perceived positive atmosphere prevailing for it in the state.

The legislative assembly elections were actually programmed to be held concurrently with the Lok Sabha elections in 2019. However, the ruling party deems unraveling the two polls as a political advantage. It targets to cash-in on the apparent positive atmosphere dominant for it in the state.

The ruling party TRS  has also planned to organize 100 public meetings across the state in 50 days, beginning with a meeting at Husnabad near Karimnagar on September 7.

The cabinet met ahead of the public meeting and approved certain welfare actions.

In recent weeks, the state government had announced a range of measures for the benefit of various sections of the society.


The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi came to power in the state in its maiden assembly elections held in May 2014, by winning 63 out of the total 119 seats.


Leave a Reply