Offline Classes are Running || Delhi, Call 8800533302/52 || Gurugram, Call 7838900910 || Bhubaneswar, Call 7682823980/81

4 Indian Sites Chosen For UNESCO Awards

Four sites from India have been chosen for the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation announced in Penang, Malaysia on October 14, 2019.

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation awards were announced marking the 20 years of its inception.

The four winners from India, include:

  1. Award of Distinction for Vikram Sarabhai Library, Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Ahmedabad
  2. Award of Merit for Keneseth Eliyahoo Synagogue, Mumbai
  3. Our Lady of Glory Church, Mumbai
  4. Honorable Mention for Flora Fountain, Mumbai

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation programme recognizes the efforts of private individuals and organizations that have successfully restored and conserved structures and buildings of heritage value in the region. By recognizing private efforts to restore and adapt historic properties, the Awards aim to encourage other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public-private partnerships.

Awarded projects reflect a clear understanding and application of various criteria, such as the articulation of the spirit of place, technical achievement, appropriate use or adaption, and the project’s contribution to the surrounding environment as well as the local community’s cultural and historical continuity.

The 2019 Awards Ceremony saw 150 past winners, jury members, contributors and friends of the Awards gather to recognize this year’s Award Winners as well as the launch of the Asia Conserved IV Publication, which celebrates the winners of the Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation from 2009 to 2014.

Sixteen projects from five countries – Australia, Bhutan, China, India and New Zealand – have been recognized by the international Jury of conservation experts in this year’s Awards. The jury met in August to review 57 entries from 14 countries across the Asia-Pacific region.

The renewal of the historic Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts in Hong Kong received the Award of Excellence, the highest award among all categories.

SOURCE: India Today, The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply